What I Learned (Winter Edition)

I’m completely late to the game on this one, since it’s basically spring already (at least here in Mississippi.  My prayers are with you, Northeasterners.)  But it’s equal parts fun and helpful for me to reflect back over different seasons and months to remember what God’s been teaching me, what I’ve struggled with, where I’ve found encouragement, and what I’ve been learning.  So in the spirit of ‘better late than never’ and in no particular order, here are a few things I learned this winter (from the random to the thoughtful):

1.  George Clooney starred in a Norwegian banking commercial…and it was the best commercial I’ve ever seen. 

Someone linked to this on Facebook and, I kid you not, I probably watched it 10 times.  It’s too good not to share, so here you go.  You’re welcome.

 

2.  When it comes to adoption grants, it never hurts to apply.

We found out in December that we received the third adoption grant we applied for.  That makes us three for three in the grant department.  At the time, it definitely felt like God was showing off a bit for us, but let me tell you, we have clung to His provision over the past several months as complications in the adoption process have raised their ugly heads.  These grants have been a sweet, stable reminder that our Father hasn’t forgotten us and is still fighting on our behalf and on behalf of our children.

3.  Four dozen Christmas cookies are NOT enough for my husband when it comes to sharing.


My hubby is a world-class cookie monster.  So it should come as no surprise that the baking of Christmas cookies is a favorite tradition of his.  During one of the baking marathons, he came home to trays full of cooling pepparkakar, Swedish ginger cookies that are made of glittering lights, tinsel and everything magical.  They ARE the smell and taste of Christmas.  After helping himself to a number of the proceeds, he began to count the remains, remarking “We’ve only got 49 cookies left, babes.  How many people do we have to share with?”  Apparently too many.

4.  Winter in Mississippi is bipolar.


One day in January, I went for a run on a local trail.  It was 30 degrees outside and I was bundled up in all the layers, teeth chattering, wondering what on God’s green earth had possessed me to step outside of the house.  Two days later, I went for a run on that same trail in 70 degree weather with a tank top.  I mean, really?  The only thing more confusing is high school calculus.

5.  Alanis Morissette updated her song ‘Ironic’…with a little help. 🙂

https://youtu.be/6GVJpOmaDyU

Another little gem from the Facebook archives.  PS – isn’t James Corden the best?

6.  Joy is a decision.


This is one I’m still learning honestly.  Between the noisy political climate of the past year and numerous obstacles in the adoption process over the past few months, it’s been easy to get swept up in all the clamor…and cry.  Thankfully, the Holy Spirit, gentle teacher that He is, has slowly, gradually, been opening my eyes to see not only the battles, but the victory He provides – even in the little ways.  But it’s a daily choice to keep my eyes open to those tiny threads of joy in the midst of the hard.  Because sometimes they can be hard to see…but they’re still there.

7.  The Ellie Holcomb Pandora radio station is a great soundtrack for my day.


Have you listened to Ellie Holcomb yet?  If not, get thee to Pandora or Spotify or Apple music straightaway and have a listen.  You won’t be sorry.  Her voice is like a cup of French press being poured right in front of you, rich and soothing.  Plus, I follow her on Instagram (@ellieholcomb) and girl’s got style.

Happy Spring, friends.

 

2 thoughts on “What I Learned (Winter Edition)

Leave a Reply

