Weekend Reads

This month has been a bit bipolar here in Mississippi.  Two weekends ago, we were hunkering down with snow and ice (because an inch or two = Snowmaggedon for the south), while the past two weeks have been 70 degrees and sunshine playing peek-a-boo.  Normally, I’m all about the sunshine, but I also sorta love lighting candles and cozying up under a blanket while the world is wet and chilly outside (as long as I don’t have to drive in it).  So light a candle and enjoy a few good reads for your weekend.  I hope it’s the warm and cozy kind.

amber-haines

What Do You Taste? by Amber C. Haines

“When we can’t tell the difference between the courthouse and the church, let’s remember that so many things can happen.”

amber-haines-2

When There’s a Lion in Your Yard by Amber C. Haines

“This world is charged with the grandeur of everything but God – unless you realize that the Kingdom is already within you, already within the child, already within the poor and marginalized, and already within the mercy-hungry, unforgivable tax collectors who’ve taken from us.  The Kingdom belongs to such as these.”

liz-curtis-higgs

When Your Heart Needs a Fresh Start by Liz Curtis Higgs for A Holy Experience

“I stopped pretending I had all the answers and started asking God questions.  Through it all God loved me.  That was the realization that undid me, in the best sense of the word.  It shattered my misconceptions.  It trampled my pride.  God didn’t just rock my world.  God blew my world apart and then rebuilt it from the ground up…. ‘The old has gone…’ 2 Corinthians 5:17”

holley-gerth-7

Defeating Fear and Worry by Holley Gerth

“People would ask, ‘How do you feel about your infertility?’  And I would say, ‘I have a peace about it.’  And they would look at me like, ‘Yeah, yeah, Sunday School answer.’  And I said, ‘No, it’s the kind of peace that comes after war.  And I fought for it.  I will surrender everything else but not that peace.'”

THIS.

Happy Weekending, friends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

