The Ending is Only the Beginning

the-story-is-bigger-blog-header

 

It’s a bittersweet kind of a day.  It’s October 31, which means this Write 31 Days series is game. over.  Well, game over…sort of.

It’s over in the sense that there will no longer be a post going up every day based around this theme.  But…it’s also not over because God is most certainly not done writing our story, just like He’s not done writing yours.

There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.  ~Philippians 1:6 (the Message)

These themes of choosing hope and joy over fear, discouragement and shame, of allowing God to break out of boxes I may have put Him in, of looking for the beauty in the mess and chaos, these are themes that God is still writing on my heart.

fractured-light

Forest road. Landscape.

rainbow-waterfall

As I was getting ready for church yesterday, my Spotify app was playing in the background, and Francesca Battistelli’s song “Write Your Story” came on at one point:

They say
You’re the King of everything
The One who taught the wind to sing
The Source of the rhythm my heart keeps beating
They say
You can give the blind their sight
And You can bring the dead to life
You can be the hope my soul’s been seekin’
I’m an empty page
I’m an open book
Write Your story on my heart
Come on and make your mark
Author of my hope
Maker of the stars
Let me be Your work of art
Won’t You write Your story on my heart
My life
I know it’s never really been mine
So do with it whatever You like
I don’t know what Your plan is
But I know it’s good…
I want my history
To be Your legacy
Go ahead and show this world
What You’ve done in me
And when the music fades
I want my life to say
I let You write Your story on my heart

That is, and will continue to be, my prayer.  I can’t see fully what His plan is with this adoption, with our family, yet.  It certainly doesn’t look like what I thought it would!  But I know it’s good, because He is good.

And the story He’s writing with your life is good.  It may seem messy, chaotic, painful, full of shame, or beyond repair.  Sometimes life in this broken world IS messy.  It feels chaotic and painful.  But shame comes from the enemy of our souls, not from the Author of our story.  And life is never beyond repair because our Creator is a Redeemer who makes all things new.

So together, let’s lean into the knowledge that the story He’s writing with our lives is beautiful…and so much bigger than we can imagine.

all-things-new

***

Hand writes the word thank you

Thank you so much for being here this month and for reading along!  I hope you’ll stick around for the continuation of the story.  I’ll still be here, posting new chapters as they happen.  Consider signing up for email updates, and I’ll quietly slip each new post into your inbox so you won’t miss a page of the story.

Looking forward to living #thestoryisbigger with you!

6 thoughts on “The Ending is Only the Beginning

Leave a Reply

