The Beginning – or really The Continuation

 

the-story-is-bigger-blog-header

You guys.  I’m excited.  A little scared too, but mostly excited.  For the second year in a row, I’m joining a bunch of lovely writers who are challenging themselves to write everyday this month.

Today is the first in a series I’ll be writing on living in a Bigger Story.  Welcome!  If you’re new here, keep scrolling down to read Day 1.  If not, here are the current links to the rest of the series::

Day 2 – Simple Sundays

Day 3 – That First Step’s a Doozy

Day 4 – Where the Listening Leads

Day 5 – Cookie-Baking Therapy

Day 6 – Let’s Do This! Wait, What?

Day 7 – Welcome to the Roller Coaster

Day 8 – When Living Generously Feels Scary as…Well, You Know

Day 9 – Simple Sundays

Day 10 – Green Lights

Day 11 – How I’m Learning to Relax in the Face of Fear

Day 12 – Wrecked by Truth

Day 13 – Following the Trail of the Questions

Day 14 – Holding God Hostage Like a Genie in a Bottle

Day 15 – That Oh-Crap-Moment

Day 16 – Simple Sundays

Day 17 – Learning to Embrace the Mess

Day 18 – How a Puddle of Mascara Led to Banished Fear

Day 19 – What’s REALLY Going on Behind the Scenes?

Day 20 – Meant for More than Distraction (inspired by Facebook-browsing, candy-munching & water-sipping)

Day 21 – How NOT to Get Any Writing Done, Rants About Panera & Other Miscellany

Day 22 – The Possibility of Exploding Dreams

Day 23 – Simple Sundays (Endings & Beginnings)

Day 24 – The Best Kind of Exchange Plan

Day 25 – You Are Loved

Day 26 – The One Where My Hubby ALMOST Guest Posted

Day 27 – Potholes and Beauty and Mess – Oh My!

Day 28 – Cheers to You, Moms

Day 29 – Grateful For Our Little Village

Day 30 – Simple Sundays (the final one!)

Day 31 – The Ending is Only the Beginning

***

If you were around here last October, you’ll remember we talked about hope.  A lot.  It was something that God was stirring up in my soul, teaching me how to grab hold of her and not let go.  I was in the middle of wrestling with God during a season of infertility, after longing and praying and crying out to God for a family of our own.  God continued to speak one word over and over again to my heart – “hope.”

Hope for what?  Children?  Of course I was hoping for that.  But, there was more to it.  God kept stretching my thread of hope…

I was beginning to sense a nudging from the Spirit that this waiting game, this whole journey of desiring children, was not even so much about me, or even about my husband and I.  It was about God proving Himself the Hero of our story.

…And if I just keep looking at the reality of the situations around me, I’m (honestly) not really sure I’ll ever see goodness the way I want to see it.  But real hope means I don’t quit looking for it, even in ways I never imagined.

…He gives us wisdom…to trust that every story looks different and He’s the One writing ours.

…I don’t think Jesus’ ultimate goal for my life is for it to be an easy one…I think He’s up to more than that.

…In my head, I KNEW that God…was able to give us a baby.  I even believed that He WOULD give us a baby.  But even if He didn’t, I did not want to give way to discouragement, despair, fear and depression.  And let’s face it, those are all viable options when you’re facing what looks like the death of a dream you’ve had for most of your life…

…Daring to hope that maybe, just maybe, this time things would be different.  And then reality slaps you in the face.  And your hope was popped…like the balloon whose string you were desperately hanging onto.

Who or what is your hope in?

…My question, in that disappointing season of life, was not whether or not God COULD give us a child…The question I was struggling with was whether or not He even WANTED to give us a child of our own.

…Feeling abandoned by God…YET.  One of the most beautiful words for the hope-seeker…Because the Truth is in the ‘yet.’  He is holy.  He is enthroned on our praises.  And when He’s on the throne of our lives, those big things become much smaller.

*Psalm 113:9 – He settles the barren woman in her home as the happy mother of children.

*Psalm 119:116 – Let me not be put to shame in my hope!

And my ending thoughts last year?

This journey of life – and of hope – really is all about God proving Himself to be the Hero of our stories.  He’s writing each of our stories, and we can trust Him.  He’s a good Author.  Hope wins. Every time.  Yes.

hope wins

 

img_0900

And so, the story – of hope, of joy, of living hands-open – continues.  And over this next month, I pray we’ll discover that the story God is writing with my life, your life, all of our lives, is so much bigger than we realize.  Open our eyes, Jesus.

the-story-is-bigger-link-image-2

One thought on “The Beginning – or really The Continuation

Leave a Reply

