Waiting to be Found

 

This may look like a lone little earring to you, but it’s really so much more.

These are my wedding earrings, worn as a blushing bride almost five years ago now, and which I got out to wear to church just a few weeks ago.  Later that evening as I was getting ready for bed, I discovered one was missing.  The recovery search (which included my sweet hubby) was futile, and I eventually gave it up as lost…even as the lone surviving earring continued to stare me down from the bedside table, as if to say “don’t give up hope.”  And yet, weeks went by with no earring to be found, not in the laundry or the dresser drawer or the kitchen floor…or anywhere.  Then just the other day as I randomly took Piper outside, I passed by the area I had been sitting that Sunday (which had already been thoroughly canvassed).  A little whisper in my heart rose up… ‘don’t stop looking.’  And there it lay, right there in the grass at my feet.  A beautiful reminder to keep my eyes and ears open…and never give up hope.

Sometimes that thing that seems lost to you?

Maybe it’s the desire for children that doesn’t seem to be coming to fruition.

Maybe it’s the perfect job or ministry opportunity you thought you always wanted, but that seems just out of reach.

Maybe it’s the wayward child who seems to ignore your every attempt to reach out and love on them.

Or maybe it’s the identity you’ve found in a long-held position that God now seems to be asking you to give up.

When you’re in the middle of a ‘lost season’ (not to be confused with the TV series), it can be hard to look for hope.  Trust me, I know.  But that’s when opening our eyes and ears to the Holy Spirit’s whisper is so vital.  Because the reality is that even though all may seem lost, it’s not.  Not really.  Hope is just waiting to be found.  And it might be found in a different place than you thought it would be.  Or it might look slightly different once you do find it.  But the promise for those who keep their eyes and ears open and truly seek….is that they WILL find.

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.  ~Matthew 7:7-8

Don’t give up.  Let’s keep our eyes and ears open for Hope’s whisper today.

Leave a Reply

