What I Learned in January

What We Learned in January

1.  It took me all of about 2 episodes to become a full-fledged Fixer Upper fangirl.

fixer upper

So, we went to visit my family in Florida for Christmas, and stayed with my brother and sister-in-law.  As one does over holiday breaks, we ate all the food, soaked up snuggles from my adorable niece, and watched all the TV.  Scratch that: we basically watched endless marathons of Fixer Upper.  ‘We’ being my sister-in-law and I.  The guys were slightly more interested in football and other such manly shows.  Can you believe I had never even heard of this show before Christmas?  The hubby and I don’t have cable or internet streaming at our place, which basically means no TV other than what we can rent from the library.  So I’m eternally grateful to my sister-in-law for introducing me to the magic that is Chip and Joanna.  What happens when you plop me down in front of HGTV and the ridiculously adorable and stinkin’ stylish Joanna Gaines making every house look basically like my dream home?  Well folks, you may have a couch potato on your hands.  And now I’m going through withdrawals.  Sniff sniff.

2.  I am a cat-person (and a dog-person).

Kia

We lost our cat, Kia, just after Christmas.  Almost exactly a year after losing our previous cat, Rue.  Both, unfortunately, were hit on the road in front of our house.  I’ve always thought of myself as a dog-person, having only had dogs growing up.  But this little ball of fur and the one before her grabbed my heart.  I mean, how can you not love this?

IMG_0345

*This was right after we got her*

They really had become part of the family.  I love snuggling with Piper (our dog), but there’s just something about a kitten purring in your lap that’s just…relaxing.  RIP, Kia.

3.  Friends will always be my happy place.

Speaking of TV, this show will NEVER get old.  Having a bad day?  Pop in an episode, any episode.  I’ve probably seen every episode at least 5-20 times, and it never fails to make me laugh.  And Joey will always be my favorite.

bubble wrap

help

5.  I’m a full-contact eater when it comes to grapefruit.

grapefruit

I LOVE grapefruit.  Love it.  However, I pretty much need a bib and some goggles whenever I eat it.  That’s 6 napkins right there, ladies and gentlemen.  Six.  No shame here…it’s totally worth it.

6.  It feels nice to be missed.

Last Saturday, my hubby went with some of the youth from our church to New Orleans for the day.  I hadn’t been feeling too well and had some things to catch up on at the church, so I stayed home.  About mid-morning, I got this text from him:

I may have melted just a bit inside.  After almost five years of marriage, this man still gives me the butterflies.

Then, later that afternoon, I got a random/not random phone call from a number I didn’t recognize.  When I listened to the voice mail, it was a fellow Noonday Collection Ambassador (whom I had never met) saying she was at the annual Noonday Shine conference in Austin, TX, was thinking about me and wanted to let me know that I was missed and valued.

Y’all.

Ever since signing up as a Noonday ambassador back in September to earn a little extra income towards our adoption, I have been blown away by this company and their heart to make people feel valued.  As much as I would have loved to have attended the Shine conference in Austin, my husband and I both felt that during this season of raising funds for our adoption, it simply wasn’t the wisest use of our resources.  Plus, there’s always next year.  But to have someone take time out of a busy conference schedule and actually call you to say you matter and you’re missed (by people I’ve never met!)?  That’s going above and beyond the call of duty.  After I texted her back to say thank you, we commenced a texting marathon for the next hour or so where she shared details of what was going on and sneak peaks of the new Spring line(!).  So, so encouraging.

Between that and my hubby, I think I had a permanent grin on my face for the rest of the day.

It makes me want to go out of my way to encourage someone else and let them know I miss them, that they matter to me.  Because I know how amazing it feels to be on the receiving end of that encouragement.

2 thoughts on “What I Learned in January

  1. I kept meaning to write on this post – I became a fan of Fixer Upper the same time! In December my man was traveling for a week, so my mom spent a week with me and Bunny at home… that’s ALL I feel that I accomplished that week, while she cooked and cleaned my house lol. I just fed him and fed my soul on Chip and Joanna.

    And FYI – they have a book scheduled to come out in the next year sometime, about their life. Excited! I hear they have a great testimony that they use in their daily life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Fed my soul on Chip and Joanna”…love it! I’ve actually seen a little of her testimony, so I’m excited about the prospect of a book! Hope all is well with you guys!

      Like

Leave a Reply

