What’s On My Bookshelf

on my bookshelf

So I’ve been seriously neglecting my bookshelf lately.  My Goodreads app has ever so graciously informed me that I am 20+ books behind on my reading challenge for the year.  #thanks

So here is my current stack of reads…some already finished, some still in-process:

 

  •  Fervent by Priscilla Shirer*

I gotta be honest.  I love books on prayer.  Really.  But when I saw that this book was inspired by the Christian-cult hit movie, “The War Room,” I was a little skeptical.  (Disclaimer: I have not seen the movie, so please, take what I say with a grain of salt #sheepishgrin.)  But truthfully, I tend to steer clear of most of the “Christian movies” that are all the rage lately.  Why?  Because….honestly and completely my own opinion…they seem to be *deep breath*…not very good.  Which is a whole other topic and not really the point here, since we’re talking about books.  But, rabbit trail aside, I was kind of thinking this one was just going to be so-so.

Y’all.  I loved it.

Priscilla Shirer has a no-nonsense way of writing that tackles the subject of prayer just like the spiritual weapon that it is.  She reminds us that, as believers, we are in a spiritual battle, whether we want to think about it or not.  She reminds us Who our heavenly Father is, who we are, and who our enemy really is – one who is strategic in his attacks against us.  Therefore, we should be strategic in our prayers against him.

Knowing who we truly are in Christ, deep down, allows us to get a grip on prayer and how powerful it really is in our lives – and in the lives of those around us.  Unfortunately, Satan is no dummy.  He knows how powerful prayer is, and he’ll do everything he can to keep us from it.

“As adopted daughters of the living God…he’ll diffuse our power simply by downplaying our true position.”

So true.  How many times have I forgotten my standing as a daughter of the King of kings and allowed the enemy to diffuse my prayers?

On forgiveness:

“Unforgiveness is a strategic ‘design,’ craftily implemented by your enemy to ‘outwit’ you, to cripple your effectiveness in prayer and your power to stand against him victoriously.”

Yes and amen.  And Lord knows how much I needed to hear this, even today, as I’m writing.  Ever had those conversations in your head with someone, telling them what you REALLY think of them (after the moment has passed, of course)?  *raising my hand over here*  Forgiveness isn’t easy.  But it’s good for us; it brings freedom and wholeness.  And that’s why our Father asks us to do it anyways.

I could keep going, but this book was a much needed reminder for me about the power of prayer.  And if it’s all the same to you, I think I’ll choose the book over the movie…this time. 🙂

*I received Fervent as a gift from the publisher in return for my completely honest review.
  • Twenty Things Adopted Kids Wish Their Adopted Parents Knew by Sherrie Eldridge

My husband and I are smack in the middle of an adoption process, so we are learning all the things adoption-related.  Enter this book.  I’m still reading through it, and I’m sure there will be plenty of thoughts to come.

  • Breaking Busy by Alli Worthington

Currently in the middle of this one as well and loving it.  Could not have picked a more perfect time to read it either. #ChristmasCrazy #justsayno

  • The Search for Significance by Robert McGee

This one’s been around for a while.  I’ve actually had it since graduating from college (and I’m not telling you when that was.  We’ll just say it was more than five years ago and leave it at that).  I’ve been reading through it slowly in my quiet time each morning, so it’s kind of taken me forever.  I think if I had read it right after college, it would have been more ground-breaking for me, but in the 5-ish years since college, I’ve been through some counseling and learned a bit about inner healing and emotional health as a Christian, so this feels like it covers familiar territory.  Still, it’s been a good reminder that God’s desire for us is wholeness – spiritually and emotionally.

Happy Wednesday, friends.

 

7 thoughts on “What’s On My Bookshelf

  1. Hey! It’s been nice being able to see what you’re reading on Goodreads and catch up on your blog now and then. 🙂 I’ve been contemplating whether I should set a goal for reading this year and thought I’d ask you: even though goodreads so kindly informed you that you had some reading left to complete (rude!) are you glad you set the goal anyway? Or no? Will you do it again? I mean, sure, technically you didn’t meet your goal but your goal was very high. Do you think you read more than you would have otherwise? I’d love to hear your thoughts if you have time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Kayla! I LOVE browsing other people’s bookshelves (including yours) on Goodreads and seeing what they’re reading – and adding to my own list (which prob explains why mine continues to grow exponentially!). I am glad I set the goal, since it gives me something to shoot for…even if I don’t reach it, there’s some satisfaction in checking another one off the list and inching closer to the goal. Performance-driven? Nah. 😉 I’ll def do it again next year, but prob bring my goal down just a bit. I shot a little higher since I reached my goal last year, and life happened. 🙂 I prob read similar to what I read the year before, so I may just play it safe and go with what works. 🙂 Any must-reads you’d suggest for my 2016 list?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for sharing! I’m still vascillating since I’m not task driven, but I do want to read more this year. I would recommend Notes From the Tilt-a-whirl by N.D. Wilson. What about you? Any books I must add? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for the recommendation! Added to Goodreads. 😉 I really loved Emily P. Freeman’s Simply Tuesday this past year. Oh, and Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott was pretty fantastic too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

