Just Push ‘Pause’ on the Mind-Movies

null

I ran across this line another blogger-friend, Shelley, wrote today (she’s also participating in the 31 Days writing challenge):

I must preach to myself more than I listen to myself.

Can I get an amen?

I have to confess that I do WAY more listening to myself than I do preaching, or reminding myself of the truth.  Internal dialogues run in my head like an unseen movie, and before you know it, I’ve got a plot, characters and scenery based on Once Upon a Time-That-Never-Happened.

Maybe that’s just me.

But, every once in a while – and hopefully more and more – I do rise to the occasion and soak myself in Scriptures that remind me of what the Truth really is.  The Truth that is so much stronger and real-er (I just made that word up) than my mind-movies.

Like a couple of months ago when I was struggling with holding onto hope and praying for us to have children.  I found these verses written in my journal:

Psalm 112:7,8 – He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord.  His heart is secure, he will have no fear…”

Psalm 113:9 – He settles the barren woman in her home as a happy mother of children.

Psalm 116:7 – Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.

Psalm 116:10 – I believed even when I said, ‘I am greatly afflicted.’

I needed those truths right then to remind me that I could truly be secure in trusting the Lord, that His heart towards me was good, and that I could still believe despite ‘afflicting’ circumstances.

A couple of days later, I made note of this verse (again in Psalms):

Psalm 119:116 – …let me not be put to shame in my hope!

That’s how I feel about holding onto hope for children, Abba.  Don’t let me be ashamed for being hopeful – even in a situation that looks like it has none.  I wait for and put my hope in You.

I don’t know what you’re facing today.  Maybe it’s a sick child, an unfavorable test result, a difficult work situation, a home or marriage that feels like it’s in shambles.  May I gently suggest, that if you’re prone – like me – to listen to mind-movies in your head about Once Upon a Time That Might Possibly Happen, to just push pause?  Push pause, and then, in the silence, preach to yourself.  Remind yourself of what the Truth really is.  And Who the Truth really is.

I am the Way and the Truth and the Life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.  ~Jesus

That’s a way better mind-movie anyway.

2 thoughts on “Just Push ‘Pause’ on the Mind-Movies

Leave a Reply

