When Others Hold on for Us (a journey of hope, part 4)

null

Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.  He sent out his word and healed them, and delivered them from their destruction. ~Psalm 107:19-20

 Them.

As I read that verse, it struck me again how willing I am to accept that God will do great things for others, but I’m not so willing to believe He will do them for me.  Or sometimes, it just seems to hard to hope that He actually will do great things for me.  It’s easy to think that verse is for “them,” and not really for me.

winter-tree_G1mRRPuu

Now, I knew in my head that was a lie straight from the enemy of my soul, but at the moment, it felt true in my heart.  My question, in that disappointing season of life, was not whether or not God COULD give us a child.  I believed wholeheartedly that He could give us a child – at anytime, and even despite what doctors had said.  The question I was struggling with was whether or not He even WANTED to give us a child of our own.

Even though a part of me wanted to ‘wallow in my sorry’ with the struggle, I’ve learned that it’s not exactly helpful.  To wallow, at least.  Sometimes, when the struggle to hold onto hope is real, we need others to hold on for us and struggle with us.

Photo of shadows of dates running outdoors

So I called a close friend.  She listened to me cry and rant on the phone, not trying to fix it…just listening.  At one point in the conversation, she stopped me and told me to look outside the window.  Um, ok?  But I did, and there she was, pulling into the driveway, with her two kids strapped into the backseat and a vanilla milkshake in her hand.  Just because.  I’m serious when I say I don’t think I ever had a vanilla milkshake taste as good as that one did.  Not because it ‘made everything all better’ or fixed the struggle.  But it was proof that I wasn’t struggling alone.  Someone else was holding onto hope for me – with a milkshake and a listening ear.

IMG_0538

Take it from someone who’s natural impulse is to internalize struggles…it’s not helpful.  We NEED others around us who will lift up our arms when we’re weak, who will listen to our hurts and love us through them.  Others who will demonstrate God’s heart towards us and let us know that His promises apply to US when we’re in danger of being blinded by circumstances…and those who will even bring us milkshakes just to let us know that they’re standing with us.

3 thoughts on “When Others Hold on for Us (a journey of hope, part 4)

Leave a Reply

