The One Where Wisdom is Tossed out Freely

null

I was working on memorizing these verses out of the Message a while back:

“And here’s why:  God gives out Wisdom free, is plainspoken in Knowledge and Understanding.  He’s a rich mine of Common Sense for those who live well, a personal bodyguard to the candid and sincere.” ~Proverbs 2:6-7

There are times when I’m beyond thankful that God gives out Wisdom for free, when I’m so lost for what to do in the moment that the only course of action is to drop, knees to the earth, and beg Him for the wisdom He hands out so generously.

Times when I really need to know what it looks like to love THAT person boldly.

When my life is not looking like I thought it would look like at 36 years of age, and I desperately need to know that He is in control.

SONY DSC

And then….then there are times when my soul and mind are struck with amnesia, times when I forget that God is present, that His wisdom is mine for the asking, that He really, really, REALLY loves to give good things…to ME, of all people.  I think at those times it’s easier for me to believe that, oh sure, He loves to give good gifts to OTHER people.  Of course He loves to show up and show out in the lives of others.  But for some reason, it’s harder to believe the same is true for me.  It’s like my brain suddenly morphs into the proverbial Dr. Jekyll (or is it Mr. Hyde?  I can never keep them straight) and says, ‘Now, Lauren, what are YOU going to do?  You’ve got to figure this thing out.  Weigh all the options, worry, stress out a bit for good measure, lose some sleep over it, because IT ALL DEPENDS ON YOU.’

IMG_0320

Why do I do this?  Why am I, and I would venture to say we, so quick to forget that our God tosses out wisdom like the generous Father that He is?  That our God is plainspoken in knowledge and understanding…He’s not cruelly hiding the truth from me.  When I sincerely seek Him, He becomes my bodyguard.  How cool is that?  He’s not dancing around, dangling the answers I need just out of reach.  He says, “I’ve got your back.  Just keep digging into me.  I’m a rich mine of common sense, of comfort, of strength and joy, remember?  I. Am. God.  You are not.  Rest.”

relax-text-san-writting_XJ3icb

He gives us wisdom:

…to know how to love that person boldly.

…to say what is needed when it needs to be said.

…to hold our tongue when silence and understanding is needed.

…to trust that every story looks different and that He’s the One writing ours.

I’m so glad.  I need to remind myself of that when my soul becomes forgetful and loses hope.  Maybe you do too?

4 thoughts on “The One Where Wisdom is Tossed out Freely

  1. “to trust that every story looks different and that He’s the One writing ours.”
    Lauren, if this post was in a book, I would underline almost every line! Thank you for reminding us of these truths from the pages of your own story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

