What I Learned in August

What I Learned In August

It’s good for the mind + soul to practice reflecting back over lessons learned.  Here are a few of mine over the past month:

  1.  God “can do more in my waiting than in my doing I can do.”  I didn’t come up with that (only wish I was that wise), but I’m eternally grateful that Bethany Dillon was inspired to write that line.  Cause, man, do I need to be reminded of that.  Daily.  How often I try to DO all the things to make what I want to happen, happen.  And yet….God can do so much more when he acts than I could ever hope to accomplish in my busy puttering.

From of old no one has heard or perceived by the ear, no eye has seen a God besides you, who acts for those who wait for him.  ~Isaiah 64:4

2.  I’m a fan of character-driven TV shows…like Mad Men Everybody it seemed was talking about this show.  And since we’re old school and don’t have cable (or Netflix or Hulu etc. etc.), I broke down and borrowed it from the library.  Hello, FREE.  And after a season and a half, I’m a fan.  But really more like a Don Draper fan.  I simply must find out what makes him tick.  And why he has so many secrets.  And why he doesn’t want contact with his baby brother…(so many questions).  And now I’ve just proven why I get sucked into these shows and the lives of these characters.  They become real, and I have to find out what happens next.  Same thing with Once Upon a Time and Grey’s Anatomy (before it turned slutty).  And now you can see that it’s probably a good thing we don’t have Netflix, because I would never move from the couch.  Pass the chips, please.

IMG_0475

3.  Short hair = personal air conditioning.   After living most of the summer with my scraggly, long hair pulled back in a ponytail, I finally decided to chop it all off.  (*Side note: it’s actually even shorter than this picture now.  I liked it so much, I went back a few days later and got a couple more inches taken off.  If only I could have had that half-smirk/blank stare taken off along with it…) #selfiesarenotmything  Plus, I felt like I lost five pounds all in one day. #bestweightlossplanever  And now, I’m wondering why it took me so long to do it.

4.  Essie’s Prima Ballerina is my new favorite summer shade.  So light and barely there, which incidentally, is how my makeup and shoes also are when it’s hot as Hades outside.

IMG_0468

IMG_0472

IMG_0482

5.  Worship lifts my eyes upwards.  And I so need that.  Deep down, I like to think I already knew this, but I may have needed a refresher course.  Because, well….Balloons of Hope and ‘living life looking up’ and this blog and all?  That’s what I’m supposed to be continually reminding myself of.  And worship does that for me…for all of us really; it focuses our gaze on The One Who Loves Us.  And everything else becomes so small.

IMG_0530

IMG_0534

IMG_0519

6.  I have a tribe. 🙂  I love these ladies so much.  We had a girls’ weekend a while back and let me just say, it was G-O-O-D for my soul.  We all lived in Florida back in the day, and in the past few years, God has stretched us all over the states… from Florida to Mississippi to North Carolina to South Dakota.  But two weeks ago, we all met at our place here in Mississippi for a long weekend, and it was as if no time had passed.  We talked (A LOT), laughed (A LOT), ate ALL the things (cupcakes and popcorn and pasta and wine and coffee), watched movies, shopped, and did I mention the eating?  I am thankful beyond words for these women, and am more convinced than ever of the importance of having a ‘tribe’…those people that you can laugh and cry and be hormonal and eat and tell the truth and just BE with.

IMG_0538

IMG_0540

IMG_0542

7.  Vacation for me = no driving.  Walking is grand.  Thankfully, my hubby is the same way.  So we went to the beach last week for a few days, parked the car at the condo, and there it sat for the next 48 hours.  We walked to the beach, walked to dinner, walked to get ice cream (in between naps and reading on the beach, of course), and never once had to fight traffic.  It was glorious.

Keep looking up, friends…

2 thoughts on “What I Learned in August

  1. This is beautiful. 🙂 I especially agree that short hair is a wonderful (and cheap) air conditioner. I’m glad you mentioned your “tribe”. It’s good to remember that each of us have our own and sometimes we forget that we have them. I’ll be going back to mine now. 🙂 Thank you. (stopping by from Emily’s)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

