What’s On My Bookshelf…

Will you indulge me for a moment?  Because sometimes I just like a little fluffy, fun conversation (especially when it’s about books) as much as I do the deep, soul-lifting conversations.  And as an INFP on the Meyers-Briggs scale, I definitely gravitate towards heart-to-hearts much more than small talk.  But sometimes, even us INFPs need some fun chats.  So make yourself a cup of coffee and have a seat with me for a minute, ok?

I love looking at books.  Just looking makes me happy.  In fact, I could probably make the argument that I spend more time looking at books in bookstores, on ‘recommended reading’ sites of blogs, or on Goodreads than I actually do reading.  My bookshelves are filled – and I do mean filled – with books that I have yet to read.  See?

Oh, but that’s not all!  Here’s what happens when you open the bottom doors…

And that’s just one bookshelf.  We have three more just as full in our house. Clearly, I have a problem.  But you can bet your sweet hiney that they are all on my ‘To-Read’ list….which is several miles long, obviously.

So, since I’m a big fan of browsing other people’s bookshelves as well as my own (Anne of Modern Mrs. Darcy and Emily of Chatting at the Sky are a couple of my favorites), I thought I’d offer up a peek at what I’m currently reading here.  I’m a firm believer that you can tell a lot about a person by what he or she reads – or wants to read.  Since my Goodreads to-read list is over 1000 books long, you can tell that I either have crazy high expectations or will be working my way through it for the next 256 years.  Speaking of working my way, here’s what’s in my book stack at the moment:

gone with the wind

Gone With the Wind

I’ve been trudging through Gone With the Wind for what feels like forever – not because it’s boring – far from it!  It’s just that it’s about 1000 pages long and apparently I’m not the speed reader I thought I was.  But I’m really enjoying it, and learning a lot about the history and cultural attitudes and backgrounds behind the Deep South, where I live (one would not think that a Floridian moving across two little states to Mississippi would experience culture shock.  I’m here to tell you that is SO not true).  Plus, it just feels like a crime to have grown up anywhere near the south and NOT have read it.  That, and Scarlett is one of those mean girls that you alternately want to cheer for and knock senseless.

HP and azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book #3)

So I’ve actually already read all the Harry Potter books…but my hubby hasn’t.  He was a little dubious about them at first, but was hooked after the first one.  Before we even finished the second one from the library, he had asked a friend if we could borrow the third, which we’re currently reading through together.  And the world now has one more Harry Potter fan.  You’re welcome.

Typically I’m reading a few more books and a magazine or two at the same time, but keeping up with Scarlett and Rhett and Harry and their shenanigans seems to be enough for me at the moment.  I’ll probably switch to something a little more soul-provoking when I’m finished.

What are you currently reading?

Is there a classic that you’ve never read but you feel like you should?

Rhett Butler or Ashley Wilkes?

4 thoughts on “What’s On My Bookshelf…

  1. Looking at other peoples books is so much fun, especially for those of us with that I want to read everything in the world attitude! My stack mainly consists of school books at the moment (ugh!) but I also have a healthy stack of personal reading. It just doesn’t get done very much. Anyway, I currently go back through Lies Women Believe by Nancy Leigh DeMoss, The Marriage Builder by Dr. Larry Crabb, and Good News for Weary Women by Elyse Fitzpatrick

    Like

    1. I have that same ‘read everything’ attitude…just one of the many reasons we’re such good friends. 🙂 Love Larry Crabb – I’ll have to put The Marriage Builder on my list!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

