The Thing About Balloons…

So…Balloons of Hope.  What does it mean?  I’m not really a balloons-and-cotton-candy kind of person.  I mean, I like them.  I just don’t necessarily have a thing for balloons the way some people do for butterflies or cats or peanut butter.  Actually, I DO have a thing for peanut butter, but I digress.  The balloon idea actually originated from a picture I saw on Pinterest (don’t all good ideas start there?).  And wouldn’t you know it?  I looked and looked for it to add it to this post, but couldn’t find it again.  Let that be a lesson.  If you see something on Pinterest you like….PIN IT.  Otherwise, it may forever be lost in cyber-world.  But I did describe it to a sweet friend of mine, who just happens to be artsy, and look what she came up with!

IMG_0262

The first image I saw of the word ‘hope’ had a little stick figure person hanging on for dear life to the string of the balloon on the letter ‘o.’  For some reason, when I saw it, my heart leaped up and said “Yep, that’s me!”  Because I had been – and still am, in many ways – in a season where it felt like it was all I could do to just keep hanging onto hope.  To keep hanging onto Jesus’ words, that He was who He said He was, that He would do what He said He would do.  I felt like there were days when I could just barely pinch the end of the balloon’s string between my two fingers, and other days when I could pull that balloon in tight and hug it to my chest.  Life can be a roller coaster of emotions; one that often leaves us gasping for breath, looking wildly around to see if our hope got thrown out of the car after that second 360-spiral.

The plans for starting a family that haven’t turned out the way you thought they would.

The dear friend who is slowly losing a father to cancer.

The abuse that a family member endured….at the hands of another family member.

It can leave us breathless and searching at times, can’t it?  Forgetting that there ever was a balloon called ‘hope,’ much less able to hang onto the tail end of it.

FullSizeRender(1)

But here’s the thing:  I don’t WANT to forget about hope.  I don’t want to let go….even when I think I want to let go.  (And if you know me, you know that I can tend to look at things from a “glass half-empty” perspective.  Which is why my wonderful husband is living proof of either God’s perfect matchmaking abilities or sense of humor – him and his “look on the bright side” self).  I want to be a woman who “hope[s] for what we do not see…wait[ing] for it with patience.” (Rom. 8:25).  No matter how life’s roller coaster flings us around.

FullSizeRender

So that’s what this blog is for.  It’s me, continually reminding myself to look up and grab onto that tail of hope.  Because Hope never lets go of us.

Leave a Reply

